Is spiritual enlightenment possible through the use of drugs?

No, it isn’t.

Just in case you don’t get the point of my previous post, I’m spelling it out. Ayahuasca supposedly puts you in contact with extra-dimensional beings or spirit guides, and even the Wikipedia page states that. That’s one of the unfortunate results of allowing anyone to edit Wikipedia.

I don’t know if spiritual enlightenment is possible, but I do know that drugs won’t give it to you. Drugs induce hallucination, and regardless of the spiritual significance that you assign to your hallucinations, they’re still only hallucinations.

It reminds me of a book I once read about astral projection, and extra-dimensional beings, as well as shared experiences. If only some of it were actually true, I might be able to believe it. That is, a good yardstick to use for the truthfulness in any alleged experience, is whether the experience was shared. If two or more people had the same visions under the influence of Ayahuasca, or two or more people astral travelled together and shared the experience, it would be believable. But that never happens. Some people might tell you it did happen, but they would be lying.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I don’t know if there is a spirit world. I once thought I astral travelled, but it could have been a dream. But I am sure, and so should you be, that no drug-induced effects are of any spiritual, supernatural, religious, paranormal or metaphysical significance. Drugs mess with your brain, and anything out of the ordinary you experience under their influence can not be trusted.

What really astounds me is that people just don’t seem to get it. I mean, you know that at that party you attended as a teenager, when you went to the toilet right after drinking yourself stupid and just before you threw up, and tried to read the funny message pasted on the wall, you could not, because you were drunk, you know that the problem is that you were drunk. So why the hell do you think that the flying pink elephants or angels or spirit guides or demons or whatever you saw while using drugs were real? Why?!?

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent seven years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Advice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.